Cold sweeps Best of Banff awards

Adventure filmmakers Cory Richards and Anson Fogel took top honors in each relevant category at the 36th annual Banff Mountain Film Festival. Recognized for excellence in audio post-production and best climbing film Cold was also awarded the Grand Prize.

“We never thought this raw, dark, R-rated movie would appeal to audiences. It was an experiment,” Fogel said. “Apparently the experiment worked.”

A short film that details the events of the first winter ascent of Gasherbrum II in 2011, Cold tells the intimate story of climbers Corey Richards, Simone Moro and Denis Urubko as they brave temperatures 50 degrees below zero to gain the summit of this 8,000 meter peak in Pakistan. As team photographer Richards captured amazing footage that Fogel expertly crafted into an inspiring and compelling film.

The movie Chasing Water directed by Pete McBride received the prize for Best Short Mountain Film. Fogel edited this project as well making him the festival favorite of the night.

“I really didn’t expect this. I’m overwhelmed,” he said. “Man! I love Canada!”

Here’s the list of this year’s Banff Mountain Film Festival award winners.

Summit of Excellence lifetime achievement award

Philippe Delesalle

Audio Post Production Scholarship ($10,000)

Cold, by Anson Fogel

Special Jury Mention

Journey of the Wild Coast Produced by Greg Chaney

Best Feature-Length Mountain Film

All.I.Can directed by Dave Mossop, produced by Malcolm Sangster

Best Short Mountain Film

Chasing Water, Directed by Peter McBride

Best Film on Mountain Culture

The Sun Behind the Clouds: Tibet’s Struggle for Freedom Directed by Ritu and Tenzin Sarin

Best Film on Mountain Wildlife & Natural History

Broken Tail, directed by John Murray

Best film on Exploration & Adventure

Kadoma directed by Ben Stookesberry

Best Film on Mountain Environment

Spoil, directed and produced by Trip Jennings, co-produced by Andy Maser

Best Film on Mountain Sports

The Freedom Chair, directed by Michael Douglas

Best Film on Climbing

Cold, produced by Anson Fogel

Award for Creative Excellence

The Wolf & the Medallion, directed and produced by Jeremy Collins

Radical Reels People’s Choice Award

Reel Rock, Race for the Nose, directed by Peter Mortimer, produced by Nick Rosen

People’s Choice Award

On The Trail of Genghis Khan, directed by Tim Cope

Grand Prize

Cold, produced by Anson Fogel

The Joy Trip Project Adventure Media Review is made possible with the support of sponsors Patagonia and the Walton Works

(Editior’s note: the original version of this story identified Anson Fogel as the producer of the movie Chasing Water by Peter McBride. That is an error. Fogel is the editor, but McBribe is the producer)

Share :


Share your questions comments and criticisms

Powered by Facebook Comments


I’m a freelance journalist that specializes in telling stories about outdoor recreation, environmental conservation, acts of charitable giving and practices of sustainable living.